Our August Favorites


Written By Sophie & Gracie 

There’s been a distinct lack of sunshine this August….but we’ve been enjoying some lovely things that have brightened up our month 🙂

Gracie’s Favourites

1) Madeleine Shaw Savse Smoothies

These juices are delicious and really convenient if you are on the go and want something healthy. Nutritional coach Madeleine Shaw helped create this range of juices to help you ‘get the glow’. Each flavour is packed full of incredible raw ingredients that are cold pressed to lock in the goodness. You can get them in 3 flavours; ‘Protein punch’ (coconut, pineapple, lime, vanilla, maca and whey protein), which tastes like pina colada and is great if you want to add more protein into your diet and repair tired muscles, ‘raspberry beets’ (beetroot, raspberry, apple, ginger, lemon and cacao), which has a lovely earthy flavour and helps boot energy levels and ‘sea green’ (melon, seaweed, apple, fennel, cucumber, lime and mint), which taste incredibly refreshing and helps restore your body.

unnamed

2) Ba.do 17 month classic agenda.

This has changed my life! I have only ever used my iPhone calendar as a diary until Sophie suggested I got this when we were having a look around Paperchase. Having a paper diary has made a huge difference and makes me feel way more on top of everything and organised. I absolutely LOVE this Ba.do design because it’s fun, girly and is a 17 month calendar!

ringleader-300x300

3) Eat Real- Lentil Chips

If you like crisps but want something that’s slightly less naughty then you need to try the Eat Real range of lentil, quinoa and hummus chips. They are really good and a healthier alternative because they are made with real, natural ingredients with no added nasties (artificial flavourings, colourings and preservatives).

Lentil Creamy Dil

4) Moorish Smoked Humous 

This humous has won a great taste award and I can see why… it’s amazing!!!  Free from lactose, gluten and anything artificial and suitable for vegetarians. Full of clean ingredients including, chickpeas, rapeseed oil, water, tahini (sesame), natural smoked chickpeas (15%), lemon juice concentrate, salt, garlic granules and absolutely no nasties. I love having a dollop of this on my salad or using it as a sip with the Eat Real lentil chips or wholemeal pitta bread.

ORIGINAL HUMOUS

5) Munchy Seeds Omega Sprinkles

We’ve been on the go a lot this month so I’ve been trying different convenient foods that are healthy and nutritious. I have been using these Munchy Seeds omega sprinkles because I can keep the pack in my bag and sprinkle it over salads or even just eat them on their own. They are a naturally healthy blend of lightly roasted sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, rapeseeds, linseed and hulled hemp. Munchy Seeds have a large range of products but I like the omega sprinkles because they come in the little packs and are high in:

  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids (Alpha-linolenic acid) – contributes to the maintenance of normal blood cholesterol levels & the normal functioning of the heart
  • Vitamin E – contributes to the protection of cells from oxidative stress
  • Iron – contributes to the normal formation of red blood cells & haemoglobin.  Iron also assists in the maintenance of normal cognitive function & to the reduction of tiredness & fatigue
  • Zinc – contributes to normal fertility and reproduction & contributes to the maintenance of hair, nails, skin & eyes
  • Fibre – contributes to a healthy digestive system
  • Protein – contributes to a growth in muscle mass & normal bones

273777011_0_640x640

 

Sophie’s Favourites:

1) Spotify Running

I have been trying to get back into running recently and this has made SUCH a difference!  It basically monitors your steps per minute, then plays songs which have a tempo that will keep you going.  So far I haven’t stopped once when I’ve been using it (and I always tend to stop/start). I’ve also found out that ‘Your the Voice’ by John Farnham is my ultimate running song!  Who would have thought?!

Spotify-new-experience-iPhone-screenshot-003

2) Sweaty Betty Running Top

On the running theme…I am such a wuss when it comes to cold weather so this gorgeous breathable and nicely fitted top with hood has helped whenever I’ve felt a slight chill, and will stop me making excuses as the weather gets colder.

Screen Shot 2015-08-24 at 4.15.14 pm

4) Pulsin’ Pea Protein

I’ve been trying to up my plant-based meals and snacks recently, purely because I’ve read a lot about how good it makes you feel so it’s important to get a balance between eating meat and plant sources within your meals….but I’ve also been conscious that I want to keep up my protein levels.  I’ve been making a lot of nutribullets to start my day and this Pulsing’ Pea Protein is a great source to add to smoothies!  It doesn’t have too strong a taste, and also has 80% protein which is even higher than whey!

pulsin-pea-protein-250g

5) Mum’s Book (aka ‘Throughout all Manner of Things’ by Jean Tyrrell)

Our Mum and Dad didn’t get lazy when they turned 50…Dad took up the guitar, and Mum took up sailing (which she then got Dad into and he now plays guitar aboard the boat).  They have now had quite a few years experience and have even sailed around Britain!  Mum has written a book based on the blog she kept on her adventures, and I know I’m biased…but it honestly is really good.  I am actually dying to go and read another chapter as I write this.  Even if you don’t sail, it’s light-hearted and funny so would recommend to everyone!

51Z7hZTJUhL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

5) Pukka Liquorice and Peppermint Tea

Liquorice tea is perfect for when you have a sweet craving, but are trying to be good and resist tucking into the chocolate!  It is also great for balancing hormones so has a calming effect on you too.  I can sometimes be a bit up and down, especially because we have so much going on at the moment and this (along with a bit of yoga and deep breathing) has been my saviour and helped me get a grip on things when I’m getting stressed or overwhelmed.  The peppermint adds even more benefits with soothing your digestive system and settling your stomach (which always goes mad when I’m a bit stressed out!)

Peppermint_licorice_on_white

Categories: LivingTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment